Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Mom and Me Mondays (on Wednesday) The Brilliant World of Tom Gates

The Brilliant World of Tom Gates
By Liz Pichon
Scholastic Canada Ltd.
ISBN: 978-1-4431-1936-8
Suggested Ages: 9-12
Buy from Indigo

Description: Meet Tom Gates - a master of excuses, an expert doodler, a comic story writer extraordinaire, and the bane of his teacher''s existence! In this recent recipient of the 2011 Roald Dahl Funny Prize, readers will find an honest, silly and laugh-out-loud book in the format of Tom''s battered homework diary, crammed full of his scribbles and stories.
And in his wacky journal, you''ll find all sorts of comic craziness to make you groan with glee! Hear about Tom''s worst holiday ever ("camping sucks") and the time his parents went to parents'' evening ("groan"). Tom''s battered homework diary is crammed with his scribbles and stories, cartoons and ideas - as well as comments from the long-suffering Mr. Fullerman.
Warning! Do not attempt to read this in public. You will laugh loudly!


Jake's Review: A really funny book that is a lot like Diary of a Wimpy Kid except for the fact that Tom is a lot cooler of a kid. The beginning of the book was lame but it got a lot better after about 20 pages.  It is a really easy book to read so kids like Brian who don't like to read will actually like to read a book.  The pictures make it fun to look at too.  I didn't  understand some of the words, but after mom showed me the glossary at the end, I could figure them out.  I really think it would be a better idea for the glossary to be at the beginning though.  I hope there are going to be more books in this series since I have already read all The Wimpy Kid books.  Could have been longer too.

Jake's Rating: 9.5/10

Mom's Review: Perfect book for the reluctant reader and also for fans of The Diary of A Wimpy Kids, Dork Diaries and The Loser List.  The story is delightful and the artwork just adds to its charm.  This is one that both middle school boys AND girls will enjoy. Tom is a character that everyone can relate to and the language and situations are very realistic.  Really enjoyed the relationship between Tom and his sister Delia & its one that anyone with a sibling can relate to.  I will definitely be recommending this one to any of my customers with kids who really don't like to read. Hope to see more from this author.  Enjoyed the glossary at the end which gives the reader explanations into the English terms (Published 2011 in the UK)

Mom's Rating: 9/10

We received this from Scholastic in exchange for an honest review


No comments:

Post a Comment