Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Night Film
by Marisha Pessl
Bond Street Books (Random House)
ISBN: 978-0-385-66765-4
Buy from Indigo

Description: A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley’s life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova—a man who hasn’t been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova’s dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova’s eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.



The Good Stuff
  • Fast paced, dark and creepy. Could not put the thing down, even thought about asking if I could come in late to work one night when I only had 75 pages left to read
  • A complete and utter mind fuck.  Sort of reminded me of something David Lynch would have created. Just like the characters, you are not sure what is real and what isn't
  • Characters are broken and very human
  • Eventhough its over 600 pages, it never feels like it.  Nothing ever drags and you are almost constantly on the edge of your seat wondering what the heck is going on
  • Love the conversations between Nora and Scott
  • The prologue is fabulous and hooked me right away. The perfect read for a dark and stormy night
  • Liked the interactive elements - gave it a little unique edge
  • Plenty of dark humour
  • Adored Nora, such a spunky adorable little thing
  • I cannot imagine how much work the author put into Cordova's films.  Eventhough you get very little of the detail, you know Ms Pessl has probably created a detailed backstory on each film
  • Makes you really think about fear and obsession
  • Just read it and than call me so we can discuss!


The Not so Good Stuff
  • It was a complete mind fuck - still not sure what to believe and what happened -- but that is ok
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Women of Manhattan, magnificent as they were, they forgot sometimes they weren't immortal. They could throw themselves like confetti into a fun-filled Friday night, with no thought as to what crack they fell into by Saturday."

"It was always surprising to me how ferociously the public mourned a beautiful stranger - especially one from a famous family. Into that empty form they could unload the grief and regret of their own lives, be rid of it, feel lucky and light for a few days, comforted by the thought, at least it wasn't me."

"Magic was all fun and games until you had the H-bomb of spell materials on the bottom of your shoes."

5 Dewey's

I received this at the Random House preview event for Chapters/Indigo employees and am not required to review it - just like to share

No comments:

Post a Comment