Note about my Reviews

Dear Authors: The reviews in this blog are only personal opinions. I have absolutely no background in literature, writing or reviewing. I am a Librarian (actually a Library Technician for those who care OR know the difference) with a love for a good story. The opinions in the reviews are ONLY my OPINIONS. I am not commenting on the writers ability since well -- I am not a writer and never will be. If you are the author of any of the books reviewed here, my opinion is just that and not a judgment against you!

Tuesday, December 17, 2013

The Starter House by Sonja Condit

The Starter House
by Sonja Condit
William Morrow (Harper Collins)
ISBN: 978-0-06-228305-4
Buy from Indigo

Description: In the vein of Heart-Shaped Box and The Thirteenth Tale, Starter House is a haunting and skillfully told debut novel about a newlywed couple and their first home-a home that seems to be haunted by a very malicious ghost


Lacey Miszlak grew up homeless; her crazy mother dragged her from one terrible living situation to the next. But now she thinks the pieces of her life have finally come together. She's pregnant with her first child and she and her husband Eric have moved into the home of their dreams. She knows soon its beautiful sunlit rooms will be filled with the joy of the new family she will build there.

But there's a strange darkness on the stairway and an odd little boy who won't leave Lacey alone and soon she's forced to realize that a danger she never suspected is lurking in the hallways of her beautiful new home. She's going to have to solve a decades-old mystery to save her family from an evil that has lingered in wait for them for years



The Good Stuff
  • Author fabulous at setting a mood. It felt dark and creepy
  • Fast paced, it kept me reading even thought I disliked most of the characters
  • Unique idea for a haunting
  • Good mystery kept me turning the pages just to find out what happened

The Not So Good Stuff
  • Disliked the main characters. Felt Eric was a self-righteous, self-involved jerk.  Lacey was also just plain stupid.  Sorta wished both characters had died and the baby would be born and immediately taken to a more worthwhile couple
  • No Chemistry between the characters - so when it all ends all happy and loving I was irritated
  • Last 1/4 story felt rushed, confusing and than a happy ending
  • Felt like this could have been a better story with a bit more character development and characters that quite frankly were even remotely likeable
Favorite Quotes/Passages

"Lex well knew what evidence was. It was what they showed in court, to tell the things you did and make a story of it.  The lawyers told the story to each other until the thing that really happened disappeared. When you try to remember, only the story was left, until in the end you told the story yourself, the same story everybody else was telling. Evidence they called it."

"The night had taken a turn into a different kind of time, bubbling out of itself into a circle of nameless hours between three and four."

2.75 Dewey's

I received this from William Morrow in exchange for an honest review

No comments:

Post a Comment